My Friend

Recently, I’ve met with a new friend. From the outside, I guess you can say that we are pretty much alike. I’m 18 and she’s 18. I have my family and so does she. She’s me and I’m her. Its just that we live in two different part of the world. That’s all. The end of the story.

But then again, when you look close enough, you will see that we’re indeed worlds apart. On my ide of the world, what to eat everyday is a problem. Every stal and food is becoming a bore.

On her side of the world, what to eat everyday is a problem too for her, because there is nothing to eat. Nothing to feed her family, brothers and sisters if she’s still not done with the household chore. She has to go find food. She’s the sole provider of the family. Hunting has become a job of her. Ever since the death of her father, she became the leader of the family. Her mum’s sick and her siblings are still too young and innocent.

While I fuss about what to wear to college, stressed that homework is undone and finals in nearer and nearer, she’s stressed thinking of ways to find money to pay the family debt. It’s not that her father was an alcoholic or anything. It’s because burying her dad after he died is another problem. No money = no grave. Luckily neighbours had gathered enough money to dig a hole and cremate her dad. Now she has to pay the debt. When I was thinking about how hard my life was, she was too  busy working to think about her life.

Its a big difference which family you are born into. Some are lucky and some are not so well off. For some they get to live like a king and for some, their presence aren’t even noticed. Life’s never fair, I guess. But that’s how the way life is whether you like it or not. I really do need to turn over a new leaf and reevaluate my life. I have no idea how much better off I am compared to hundreds and even thousands of other out there.

Leave a Reply

