A Cow, A Horse and A little Bit of Walking

Lately I’ve been complaining a lot about my workplace. I complain to everyone and anyone who’s willing to listen. This is so unlike me.

Then, mum told me a Chinese idiom in plain Cantonese.

If you are walking and you saw a cow, ride it. It is better than walking. Riding the cow is better than exhausting yourself walking. But if you see a horse, then forget about the cow and ride the horse. If the horse die, then you have no choice but to continue walking with your own legs

Yeah, I get what she’s trying to say. Each time I feel dissatisfied, I’m reminded of the cow, horse and walking on a dessert. I tell myself, my horse will come someday. And I grumble less, and feel better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

